Investors

Stock Information

ceo

CEO’S LETTER TO SHAREHOLDERS

In fiscal 2019, we continued our impressive trajectory of 39 consecutive years of top-line growth, 23 consecutive years of adjusted diluted EPS growth, and 14 consecutive years of dividend increases. We exercised prudent discretionary expense management, increase workforce productivity, and make important operational improvements to enhance our infrastructure resulting in improved margins. And we successfully launched a number of new products that have garnered excitement and momentum as we head into 2020.

Our streamlined solutions provide clients with the tools they need to both drive efficiency and unlock value. We offer smarter, connected datasets and portfolio analytics alongside industry-leading customer service that truly sets us apart. Moreover, we believe that the future of our industry lies in open technology that offers our clients the flexibility they need and want to pursue their investment goals. FactSet is quickly taking steps to become an increasingly open platform that offers more APIs, unique and personalized insights driven by new data, and faster speed to market for clients.

These initiatives would not be possible without the collective efforts of the talented people at FactSet, who work every day to help our clients see more, think bigger, and do their best work. We are committed to supporting our team and growing our worldview through continued Diversity and Inclusion efforts. 2019 marked the launch of our first ever employee-led and company-sponsored Business Resource Groups, focused on empowering professional development, furthering recruitment and retention, and fostering an inclusive culture of community throughout our organization. In addition, twice as many employees in 2019 volunteered at least once compared to the prior year, contributing nearly 16,000 hours served across 475 volunteer events.

2019 continued our long history of steady growth, which we have been able to maintain due to our relentless dedication to innovation, our outstanding team, and our relentless commitment to expand the universe of knowledge that clients trust. Our ability to surface insights and share intelligence how, when, and where clients want it will continue to set us apart. Our content and technology will help them discover new ideas, uncover efficiencies, and ultimately, drive results. As we look to the future, we are confident that our offering across the entire investment portfolio lifecycle, as well as our open and flexible platform, will continue to resonate in the marketplace.

We believe we will continue to win market share by doing what we do best – rolling up our sleeves, nimbly and thoughtfully building upon our winning strategy for growth, and empowering our team to drive market-leading results.

We are excited about the opportunity in front of us and we thank you for your continued commitment to the future of FactSet.

Phil Snow
Chief Executive Officer

Shareholder Overview

Fiscal Year 2019 In Review

Fiscal 2019 results continued our positive topline growth. Revenue was up 5.3% while annual subscription value (“ASV”) + professional services increased 5.1% organically. As of August 31, 2019, ASV + professional services totaled $1.48 billion, an increase of $71.6 million over the prior year. In addition, clients and users reached new highs of 5,574 and 126,822, respectively, in fiscal 2019. We returned $320.4 million to stockholders in the form of share repurchases and dividends.

Our performance in fiscal 2019 saw year-over-year growth in all four of our workflow solutions, Analytics, Research, Content & Technology Solutions (CTS) and Wealth. We launched our US banks deep sector content – the first of many in our deep sector content strategy – and expanded data sets within the workstation. FactSet also grew its data offering on the Open:FactSet Marketplace, which now includes over 100 content and solution sets, including new data feeds from Mastercard and IHS Markit, and celebrated the first anniversary of its office in Shanghai.

As of August 31, 2019, the close of our fiscal year 2019:

  • 41 years in business
  • 39 consecutive years of revenue growth
  • 23 consecutive years of adjusted earnings growth as a public company
  • 14 years of increasing quarterly dividends every year.
  • 9,600 employees
  • 64 offices in 24 countries
  • 5,500 clients
  • 126,000 global users

Key Financial Metrics

  • Adjusted EPS growth of 17.2%
  • Dividend growth of 12.5%
  • Global client count growth of 8.4%
  • Client retention rate: 89%
  • Annual subscription value growth: 5.1%
  • Repurchased $220 million in common stock

What We Do

FactSet makes it easy for financial professionals to convert raw data into powerful insight, reporting, and analysis.

Who We Serve

  • Portfolio Managers
  • Risk Managers
  • Quantitative Analysts
  • Performance Managers
  • Financial Advisors
  • Client Service and Marketing
  • Buy-Side Traders
  • Investment Bankers
  • Sell-Side Research
  • Technologists

Analyst Research

FactSet is currently followed by the brokerage firms and analysts listed below. This list may not be complete and is subject to change as firms add or delete coverage of FactSet.

Broker Analyst Email
Bank of America Merrill Lynch David Chu david.j.chu@baml.com
Cantor Fitzgerald Joseph Foresi jforesi@cantor.com
Oppenheimer & Co. Glenn Greene glenn.greene@opco.com
D. A. Davidson & Co. Peter Heckmann pheckmann@dadco.com
Northcoast Research Holdings, LLC Keith Housum keith.housum@northcoastresearch.com
Huber Research Craig Huber craig.huber@huberresearch.com
Morgan Stanley Toni Kaplan toni.kaplan@morganstanley.com
UBS Alex Kramm alex.kramm@ubs.com
William Blair & Company, LLC Andrew Nicholas anicholas@williamblair.com
Credit Suisse Kevin McVeigh kevin.mcveigh@credit-suisse.com
Raymond James Patrick O'Shaughnessy Patrick.OShaughnessy@RaymondJames.com
Barclays Manav Patnaik manav.patnaik@barclays.com
Stifel Nicolaus & Company, Inc. Shlomo Rosenbaum shrosenbaum@stifel.com
Deutsche Bank Ashish Sabadra ashish.sabadra@db.com
Goldman Sachs & Co. George Tong george.tong@gs.com
Wells Fargo Securities, LLC Bill Warmington bill.warmington@wellsfargo.com

Any opinions, estimates, or forecasts regarding FactSet’s historical or predicted performance made by the analysts at these firms do not represent opinions, forecasts, or predictions of FactSet or its management. FactSet is providing this listing as a service to its stockholders, and does not by listing these firms imply its endorsement, conclusions, or recommendations. You may obtain copies of analysts’ reports on your own, FactSet does not distribute these reports.

Contact

Investor Relations/Media Relations
Rima Hyder
Vice President, External Communications
rima.hyder@factset.com
+1.857.265.7523